Could not get image resource for "https://www.hamburger-edition.de/uploads/pics/".

Ann Pettifor to receive the Hannah Arendt Prize for Political Thinking 2018

Ann Pettifor
©Foyers Photography

Ann Pettifor is this year's recipient of the Hannah Arendt Prize für Political Thinking. A political economist who lives and works in the United Kingdom, Pettifor is author of the book The Production of Money, published in English by Verso in 2017 and in German by Hamburger Edition in spring 2018.

Hamburger Edition congratulates our author on being selected by an independent jury for this prestigious honor.

The prize comes with ten thousand euros in prize money and is presented annually by the Heinrich Böll Foundation, the government of the city-state Bremen, and the association Hannah-Arendt-Preis für politisches Denken e. V. The award ceremony will be on 7 December 2018 in the Bremen Town Hall.

The jury praised Pettifor's critique of a financial system that acts for the most part beyond public scrutiny and political control and her work to »promote political and democratic action« by citizens.

Press release from the award jury in German

Earlier winners of this prestigious prize whose work has been published in German by Hamburger Edition include Etienne Balibar (2017), Christian Teichmann (2016) and Yfaat Weiss (2012).

Website der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung

Ann Pettifor, »Die Produktion des Geldes. Ein Plädoyer wider die Macht der Banken.«